## Report of the Nominating Committee for the Executive Council 2004-2010

For quick reference, the Nominating Committee members are:

Prof. J. Angeles (angeles@cim.mcgill.ca)

Prof. Dr. Paun Antonescu (panton@styx.robotind.pub.ro)

Prof. Robert Bicker (robert.bicker@ncl.ac.uk)

Dr. CE, Zhang (ce zhang@tom.com)

Prof. Jean-Claude Guinot (<u>guinot@robot.jussieu.fr</u>) lab (<u>guinot@ccr.jussieu.fr</u>) office

I asked the Nominating Committee members on August 2, 2005 to advise me on the timetable that I suggested for our work. I also asked the members to revise the current list of Executive Council members where we identified three who are not eligible for nominations this time.

Communication with the Nominating Committee was both electronically and by regular mail.

Members Bicker and Guinot acknowledged receipt within four weeks' time, but I had problems communicating with the two other members, who later provided alternative email addresses for better communication. Alas, even with the alternative addresses, I am still having problem to get my messages through.

So far, we have come up with a revised deadline for reception of nominations: March 31, 2006.

We have also identified a total of six members of the current EC who are not eligible for nomination.

The list is included in the document attached, which we asked Prof. Mavroidis to post in the IFToMM website.

We are now expecting a response to our call for nominations from Member Organizations and from the IFToMM community at large.

## **Jorge Angeles**

Chair of Nominating Committee

## **MEMO**

To: IFToMM Community
From: J. Angeles, Chair Nominating
Committee for the EC 2007-2010

Date: December 12, 2005 Subject: Nominations of the IFToMM EC 2007-2010

The IFToMM community is understood here as the community of MMS researchers, educators and practitioners affiliated to one of the member organizations recognized by IFToMM, as per

http://www.iftomm.org

This memorandum is addressed to this community.

Please be advised that the IFToMM General Assembly will convene during The 12<sup>th</sup> World Congress on Mechanism and Machine Science. This will take place in Besançon, France, on June 17—21, 2007.

In compliance with By-Law 3.4 of the IFToMM Constitution, the slate of nominees for the Executive Council 2007-2010 must be submitted to the General Assembly, composed of all IFToMM Member Organizations, at least one year prior to the meeting of the General Assembly, which means that we must have that slate sometime on March 31, 2006.

For your information, the Nominating Committee (NC) has requested, by regular mail, a complete slate of nominees, to be received by the NC not later than February 28, 2006.

Be also advised that the same By-Law contemplates nominations from the IFToMM community at large, self-nominations not being excluded.

Should you have any questions regarding the procedure, I invite you to consult the IFToMM Constitution at the above URL

However, if you have specific questions not answered in the Constitution, feel free to address your questions to the Nominating Committee, which I chair.

If you wish to submit a nomination, please be advised that those EC members of the 2004-2007 period whose names appear in boldface type in the accompanying list are **NOT** eligible to serve one more term

## **IFToMM EXECUTIVE COUNCIL 2004-2007**

President:
Past-President
Prof. Angeles, Jorge
Vice-President
Prof. Huang, Tian
Prof. Ceccarelli, Marco

Treasurer: Dr. Rooney, Joe

Members: Prof. López-Cajún, Carlos S.

Prof. Hiller, Manfred
Dr. Ionescu, Theodor G.
Prof. Miura, Hirofumi
Prof. Kedzior, Krzysztof
Prof. Trevelyan, James