## **Report of Technical Committee on Rotordynamics**

## **Committee Meetings Held**

There has been one meeting of the Rotordynamics Committee during the past 18 months. This was held in Swansea, UK, during the "Vibrations in Rotaring Machinery" Conference, in September, 2004, organized by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, London, UK.

## **Summary of Minutes from Swansea Meeting**

- a. Preliminaries. Minutes of 2002 Meeting, Agenda, New Business.
- b. Progress Report on Rotordynamics 7 Conference, Vienna, 2006, by Conference Chairman H. Springer.
- c. Selection of Conference Site for Rotordynamics 8 Meeting, 2010. Presentations were made by Egypt and South Korea. Decision by Committee Vote: Seoul, South Korea.
- d. Discussion of Lund Medal Conditions. The bases for award of the medal were considered. In future the award will be a certificate and the prize money will be awarded as scholarships for promising paper contributions to the Rotordynamics conference.
- e. Discussion concerning Proposed Rotordynamics Magazine. Decision: No recommendation for a Rotordynamics Magazine will be made to the EC.
- f. Progress Report, 8<sup>th</sup> International Rotordynamics Conference, Vienna, 2006. Preparations for this meeting are well in hand. A call for papers was issued in July 2005. Conference chair is Prof. H. Springer, of Vienna Institute of Technology.

## **Additional Items**

- a. Subcommittees. Three subcommittees have been formed, for Condition Monitoring, for Membership Outreach, and for Conference Site. Subcommittee chairs have been appointed, and they will report on their activities at the next meeting.
- b. R.C. Secretary Dr. A. J. Smalley, (U.S.) submitted his resignation from the R.C. due to his retirement. A replacement for this position is being sought.
- c. R.C. Chair Dr. Neville Rieger (U.S.) announced his intention to resign as Chair of the Committee, following the Vienna Rotordynamics Conference in September 2006.
- d. Nominations are currently being sought for the next chair of the R.C.

Respectfully submitted,

**Neville F. Rieger DSc.**, Chair, IFToMM TC on Rotordynamics